In the Light of the Eclipse

Total Book Rating (as of 3/9/2015): 4.25 Stars (out of 5)

—————————–

Reviewer: Four aces
Source: Amazon
Date of Review: 3/8/2015
Rating: 5 Stars (out of 5)

A beautiful story about friendships and relationships. The story is original and the characters are easy to like and connect with. All together, the plot and characters create an appealing and fun novel. I would definitely recommend this to my friends and have already purchased a copy to share!

—————————–

Reviewer: Red City Review
Source: Red City Review
Date of Review: 10/5/2014
Rating: 3 Stars (out of 5)

Bryan Caron’s novel In the Light of the Eclipse is set in a dystopian universe, ruled by Heather, “the goddess of condemnation.” Caron unravels this world through the story of Kayla and Zoe’s friendship. Zoe lives on Pastor Ranch, a farm, considered sacred land in this universe, while Kayla is from Industry Corners or, as she calls it, “Industry Squalors,” supposedly the best place to live, but widely considered a slum. The two girls bond despite their differences, which are not limited to just their living situations. Zoe is a careful and prudent girl who accepts the rules and restrictions of their culture even when they do not seem to make sense. Kayla, on the other hand, rebels in ways both large and small. Zoe understands Kayla’s mutinous feelings, because Kayla, like many of the other inhabitants of this world, will only live until the next eclipse. During these eclipses, which recur every seventeen years, all of the souls born since the previous eclipse are removed. The only exceptions are the children of the eclipse, like Zoe, who live until thirty-four. As Kayla nears the end of her seventeenth year, she becomes even more defiant and determined to outwit Heather and survive the eclipse. Zoe’s love for Kayla embroils her in Kayla’s rebellion and leads her on an unexpected journey, during which she learns to question everything she has ever known.

In the Light of the Eclipse follows in the footsteps of groundbreaking works like The Hunger Games and Divergent. Both of these series take place in universes similar to that which Caron has created. Caron, however, could do a better job of laying the groundwork for the novel’s setting, which is often confusing and inaccessible. The novel begins with a brief anecdote detailing how Kayla and Zoe became friends, but it might have been better to begin with an explanation of this interesting universe. In addition, the diction and word choice are occasionally unclear and difficult to understand. Nevertheless, the story is fast-paced and interesting and Kayla and Zoe are compelling and sympathetic characters who will keep readers interested until the very end.

—————————–

Reviewer: Sara Knight
Source: The Drunken Druid (Also on Amazon and GoodReads)
Date of Review: 2/1/2014
Rating: 4 Stars (out of 5)

“In the Light of the Eclipse” by Bryan Caron is a dystopia fantasy for YA. Every seventeen years an eclipse covers the land in darkness and the Goddess takes the souls of anyone over the age of seventeen. Like in our reality, some question everything and some just enjoy what time they have. The unique story line is very refreshing and the plot is solid with moments of genuine beauty. Within the story the characters (Zoe and Kayla) are excellent with each one having a unique voice and personality that can be felt as the story progresses, I found myself feeling for them and experiencing both the highs and the lows that they go through as the story progresses. I’d recommend it for teens upwards 🙂

—————————–

Reviewer: Jessica Smith
Source: GoodReads
Date of Review: 1/13/2014
Rating: 3 Stars (out of 5)

*I received a free copy of this book via a Goodreads giveaway*
I was intrigued by the story, but the book just didn’t do it for me. I liked the idea and the plot was definitely interesting, but I think my biggest issue was that I didn’t care about the characters enough. Zoe is described as a wonderful person, but I didn’t really feel it. The characters all just seemed 2 dimensional, and I didn’t like Kayla at all. The writing was also a little hard to follow at times and didn’t flow very well. That being said, it is definitely an original story and I liked the ending.

—————————–

Reviewer: Tanya
Source: Book Loving Hippo
Date of Review: 12/21/2013
Rating: 4 Stars… or Hippos (out of 5)

This novel is a dystopian novel involving a female “God” named Heather. It centers around two best friends, Zoe and Kayla. It was interesting to read the chapters as you learned more about both young women. The book has a way of sucking you into the story and not letting go. You really don’t know where the book is going as you read through the book. The novel is very creative and well written. It combines a story about love and friendship. The characters are easy to relate to and very enjoyable to read about. It certainly is about a different world than the one we live in, one that is worth reading about!

—————————–

Reviewer: Linda
Source: Amazon
Date of Review: 12/10/2013
Rating: 5 Stars (out of 5)

Great story about love, friendship, and learning the meaning of life. Characters are believable and likable. You really want the characters to succeed in their quest to stop the eclipse and have a happy life. I would recommend it to my friends. It was a fun story and an easy read.

—————————–

Reviewer: Carrie January
Source: Cryptic Reads (also on Amazon)
Date of Review: 12/10/2013
Rating: 5 Stars (out of 5)

In the Light of the Eclipse is a dystopian fantasy set in a world where their God is a female named Heather. The story centers around two young women named Zoe and Kayla. Zoe wins a lottery, which is not a cash lottery. It’s a lottery to become caretaker of a child. Each chapter takes you deeper into a dystopian plot that keeps you very entertained, simply because you don’t know what to expect and you want more!

I enjoy fantasies set in alternate realities, so I found this book to be a very fun read. It was definitely creative, well-written, and one that I will read again in the future.

—————————–

Reviewer: Nyxx Raven
Source: Nyxx’s Nook (also on Amazon)
Date of Review: 12/5/2013
Rating: 5 Stars (out of 5)

Every time I dive into a “new world” I’m always a little nervous. Honest. I want to like all books and give them all 4 and 5 star ratings. For me, the new worlds either draw me in or push me away – far away. In this new land, you see that things aren’t always what they seem, nor are the people around you. It’s amazing how we learn to live with things, without question, just because they’ve always been so. This is no different.

This book and the concept of the eclipse and the age of seventeen – wow. It was wonderful. I always worry about giving away too much in a book. And this book summary brilliantly illustrates the book.

This is a must read, not only for young adults, but also for adults. I couldn’t put this book down and was up a lot later than I should have been to see what would happen in the end.

++This book was provided to me free of charge in exchange for an honest review. This in no way influenced my review++

%d bloggers like this: